Tourist Visa

Tourist Visa for India – What You Need to Know

Getting a Tourist Visa for India can be a daunting task. But with some preparation, you can easily get your desired visa. Here, you can learn about the different types of tourist visas, including e-Tourist visa, regular (paper) tourist visa, and electronic travel authorization. Learn more about the process and the fees involved. And, if you are still unclear, keep reading. This article will walk you through the entire process, step-by-step.

e-Tourist visa

If you’re a tourist, you may have heard about the e-Tourist Visa for India. It’s a new form of visa that requires travelers to submit their biometric data online before they can board a flight. This type of visa can be used at any of 28 official airports and five seaports in India. To be eligible, you must possess a valid passport with two blank pages, a minimum of one of which is blank. It is not possible to apply for an e-Tourist visa if you are traveling through an International Travel Document (ITD) or Diplomatic Passport. Moreover, e-Tourist visa holders can only enter the country through designated airports and depart from authorized Immigration Check Posts. If you plan to enter India through another port of entry, you must visit the embassy of India to

There are some requirements you need to fulfill before you can apply for an e-Tourist Visa for India. Your passport must be valid for at least 6 months beyond your planned date of entry into India and have at least two blank pages, which will be used by border control officials. However, if you are travelling with a child, your e-Tourist visa may not be valid for them.

Tourist Visa
Tourist Visa

Read More: Details About Indian Visa for Cruise Ship Visitors

Regular (paper) tourist visa

If you are an international traveler whose sole objective is to visit India, you must apply for a regular (paper) tourist visa. You need a passport with six months validity from the date of your arrival in India and two blank pages to stamp. Applicants must have valid passports from the country they are from or an approved travel document from another country. Applicants must have a valid passport with the same personal details on both passports.

When applying for a regular (paper) Tourist Visa for India, you must remember that it is not the same as a visa on arrival. You must apply for one in advance, which saves you the hassle of mailing your passport to the Indian Embassy and waiting in line. The only difference is that a tourist visa only covers four reasons: sightseeing, visiting friends and family, and undergoing short medical treatment. A tourist visa cannot be used for doing business in India.

Electronic travel authorization

An Electronic travel authorization (ETA) is a digital document that allows travelers to enter India with a tourist visa. An ETA is valid for up to 60 days and can be processed within three business days. This document does not allow visitors to enter Protected Areas or Cantonment Areas. Visitors to these places must obtain a visa from the Civil Authority before entering. The ETA does not cover all of the requirements for visiting India.

A journalist visa for India can be obtained by the Ministry of External Affairs (M.E.A.) or the Ministry of Home Affairs (MHA) in New Delhi. This visa enables journalists, film-makers, and representatives of radio and television organizations to visit the country. It can also be used by journalists who are working for international media. Those who have these visas must contact the Press Information Bureau or External Publicity Division of the M.E.A. to obtain the necessary documents.

Read More: Indian Medical Attendant Visa


Those who are looking to travel to India for tourism purposes should know about the fees for obtaining a tourist visa. Whether you are planning a single-entry trip, a double-entry vacation, or are going on a business trip, there are several different visas available for Indian citizens. The fees for each vary depending on the nationality of the applicant. However, there are a few common types of visas that US citizens are required to obtain.

For individuals who wish to visit India for tourism purposes, you must purchase an e-Visa. An e-Visa is valid for 30 days and costs USD 25. You can also pay a flat fee of USD 10 during the tourist off-season. If you intend to stay in India for longer than a month, the regular e-Visa is valid for five years and costs USD 80. However, you can now choose an e-Visa for a one-year period for a reduced fee of USD 40.

Note: This is not permanent information. It depends on government policy

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *